Tuesday, July 20, 2010

Fire by Kristin Cashore Named Winner of the Inaugural Amelia Elizabeth Walden Book Award for Young Adult Fiction

The Assembly on Literature for Adolescents (ALAN) of the National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE) has announced the winner of the inaugural Amelia Elizabeth Walden Book Award for Young Adult Fiction.

Established in 2008 to honor the wishes of young adult author Amelia Elizabeth Walden, the award allows for the sum of $5,000 to be presented annually to the author of a young adult title selected by the ALAN Amelia Elizabeth Walden Book Award Committee as demonstrating a positive approach to life, widespread teen appeal, and literary merit.

The winner of the 2010 Amelia Elizabeth Walden Award is:

Fire by Kristin Cashore (Dial).

The 2010 Amelia Elizabeth Walden Award finalists include:

The Monstrumologist by Rick Yancey (Simon & Schuster);

The other finalists were Marcelo in the Real World by Francisco X. Stork (Arthur A. Levine); North of Beautiful by Justina Chen Headley (Little, Brown); and The Sweetheart of Prosper County by Jill S. Alexander (Feiwel and Friends).

All Amelia Elizabeth Walden Award titles will be identified by an award sticker—gold for the winner and silver for the four finalists. This year’s winning title and finalists will be honored at an open reception on Nov. 22, immediately following the 2010 ALAN Workshop in Orlando.

For more information on the award, please visit ALAN Online: The Official Site of the Assembly on Literature for Adolescents.